Maryland State Fire Prevention Commission logo

The State Fire Prevention Commission was established in 1964 and consists of nine members appointed to a maximum of two five-year terms by the Secretary of the State Police with the approval of the Governor. The Commission is empowered to hear appeals filed by those who are aggrieved by an order or decision of the State Fire Marshal or his designee in the course of enforcing the State Fire Prevention Code. The Commission is also empowered to promulgate, amend, and repeal regulations for the safeguarding of life and property from the hazards of fire and explosion.

Maryland State Fire Prevention Commission
Maryland State Police, Western Operations Center
18345 Colonel Henry K. Douglas Drive, Suite 240
Hagerstown, Maryland 21740

301-766-3899 | 1-877-890-0199
Fax: 301-766-3889